q3map2/light_bounce: prevent infinite loop on obscure bias compute master 167/head
authorThomas Debesse <dev@illwieckz.net>
Wed, 1 Jul 2020 16:20:25 +0000 (18:20 +0200)
committerThomas Debesse <dev@illwieckz.net>
Wed, 1 Jul 2020 17:55:13 +0000 (19:55 +0200)
commitc5ecfe71942b6c273e1ad92390faa710044f547e
tree1a6e8d4f79c7e5a8c27006246bb3fd236055e5c0
parentacd4026b70958a6371bf09c8f1618f98db625234
q3map2/light_bounce: prevent infinite loop on obscure bias compute

New code produces same result without loop at all, so
it cannot fall in infinite loop, and it is faster in
use cases requiring more than one loop in previous code.

The Unvanquished vega map is known to trigger the bug:
https://github.com/UnvanquishedAssets/map-vega_src.dpkdir
I reproduced it multiple time on various hardware (8 core FX-9590,
12 core/24 thread Ryzen 9 3900X) with commit af40508 and using
final compilation profile edited to use -fastbounce instead
of -fast option.

The symptom is simple, q3map2 stucks there:

--- Radiosity (bounce 1 of 8) ---
--- RadCreateDiffuseLights ---
0...1...2...3..

Or somewhere else in that progression bar given your hardware
and the amount of core your CPU has.

When stuck, all the CPU cores are running 100% but the thread
never returns (a strace can reveals it, a gdb backtrace too).

Thanks to @slipher for the precious advices and improving my first
attempt to fix it.

For more information on the issue, I asked:

> which negative value never can become positive
> when incremented infinitely?

slipher said:

> for a double, any value less than -2^53 would have this property
> don't know for float off the top of my head

But then, it means that's theorically verified this loop was able
to run forever in some case.

I don't know what this code is doing anyway, but at least we can
keep the behaviour without requiring to understand it.
tools/quake3/q3map2/light_bounce.c