Drop Windows 9x support 50/head
authorThomas Debesse <dev@illwieckz.net>
Thu, 13 Jul 2017 15:15:32 +0000 (17:15 +0200)
committerThomas Debesse <dev@illwieckz.net>
Wed, 3 Oct 2018 00:05:03 +0000 (02:05 +0200)
- Windows 98 was using `%windir%\Application Data` without defining `%APPDATA%`
- Writing user config in `C:\netradiant` looked fine on single user OS driving FAT file system
- We can't build for Windows platforms that does not support `%APPDATA%`
- Windows XP Schrödinger edition is able to define `%APPDATA%` while being dead at the same time
- Even ReactOS 3.11 for Workgroups defines `%APPDATA%`
- Wine defines `%APPDATA%` like a boss
- Twenty first century is now a thing
- NetRadiant will never run on OpenGEM/FreeDOS (and that's a shame)

radiant/environment.cpp

index 81face0..60100ce 100644 (file)
@@ -292,15 +292,7 @@ void environment_init( int argc, char const* argv[] ){
     if ( !portable_app_setup() ) {
         char *appdata = getenv( "APPDATA" );
         StringOutputStream home( 256 );
-        if ( !appdata || string_empty( appdata ) ) {
-            ERROR_MESSAGE( "Application Data folder not available.\n"
-                           "Radiant will use C:\\ for user preferences.\n" );
-            home << "C:";
-        }
-        else
-        {
-            home << PathCleaned( appdata );
-        }
+        home << PathCleaned( appdata );
         home << "/NetRadiantSettings/";
         Q_mkdir( home.c_str() );
         home_path = home.c_str();