makefile: deprecate the legacy Makefile
authorThomas Debesse <dev@illwieckz.net>
Fri, 5 Jul 2019 01:45:26 +0000 (03:45 +0200)
committerThomas Debesse <dev@illwieckz.net>
Sun, 13 Oct 2019 00:56:24 +0000 (02:56 +0200)
requires make to be called this way:

make I_KNOW_MAKEFILE_IS_DEPRECATED=1

Makefile

index 7e29224..5a9252e 100644 (file)
--- a/Makefile
+++ b/Makefile
@@ -1,3 +1,10 @@
+ifeq ($(I_KNOW_MAKEFILE_IS_DEPRECATED),)
+    $(shell printf 'ERROR: Makefile build is deprecated, use CMake instead, see README.md\n\n' >&2)
+    $(error I_KNOW_MAKEFILE_IS_DEPRECATED is not set)
+else
+    $(shell printf 'WARNING: deprecated Makefile build enforced\n\n' >&2)
+endif
+
 MAKEFILE_CONF      ?= Makefile.conf
 -include $(MAKEFILE_CONF)