linux: do not strip binaries (does not work well with the non-PIE hack)
authorThomas Debesse <dev@illwieckz.net>
Mon, 8 Mar 2021 13:25:43 +0000 (14:25 +0100)
committerThomas Debesse <dev@illwieckz.net>
Mon, 8 Mar 2021 14:21:25 +0000 (15:21 +0100)
easy-builder

index ad55492cafa7a29006d08080b1b5162f757b20a5..9fe738b677ba4120551d6d2ba949cc45dbbef59d 100755 (executable)
@@ -14,10 +14,22 @@ install_dir="${project_source_dir}/install${SUBDIR:+/${SUBDIR}}"
 install_target='install/strip'
 build_type='Release'
 
-if [ "$(uname -s)" = 'FreeBSD' ]
-then
-       install_target='install'
-fi
+case "$(uname -s)" in
+       # Stripping is known to make non-PIE Linux netradiant binary unusable.
+       # Maybe that's related to the way we patch rpath?
+       # Building NetRadiant as non-PIE is required because of
+       # a mistake in the mimetype-library that prevents users
+       # to run the application from file managers on Linux.
+       # See: https://gitlab.freedesktop.org/xdg/shared-mime-info/-/issues/11
+       'Linux')
+               install_target='install'
+               ;;
+       # Stripping is known to make FreeBSD binaries unusable.
+       # Maybe that's related to the way we patch rpath?
+       'FreeBSD')
+               install_target='install'
+               ;;
+esac
 
 _job_count=4