help message
authorRudolf Polzer <divverent@xonotic.org>
Wed, 27 Mar 2013 08:17:12 +0000 (09:17 +0100)
committerRudolf Polzer <divverent@xonotic.org>
Wed, 27 Mar 2013 08:18:12 +0000 (09:18 +0100)
git-identify-revision

index 64e9495..e71c259 100755 (executable)
@@ -4,16 +4,38 @@
 # arguments: git rev-list arguments
 # we now identify the one revision with least differences
 
+usage()
+{
+       echo "Usage: $0 [--cached] git-rev-list args..."
+       echo
+       echo "Example: $0 --all"
+       echo "Compares current work tree to all revisions, and identifies the"
+       echo "closest match."
+       echo
+       echo "Example: $0 --cached v1.0..HEAD"
+       echo "Compares current work tree to all revisions between v1.0 and HEAD,"
+       echo "and identifies the closest match."
+}
+
 case "$1" in
        --cached)
                use_worktree=false
                shift
                ;;
+       --help|-h)
+               usage
+               exit 0
+               ;;
        *)
                use_worktree=true
                ;;
 esac
 
+if [ $# = 0 ]; then
+       usage >&2
+       exit 1
+fi
+
 diffopts="-M -C"
 
 if $use_worktree; then